• Marathon Swimming

Australian Long Distance Swimming Federation honoured by IMSHOF

The ALDSF is to be inducted as an Honour Organisation into the International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame.

The Australian Long Distance Swimming Federation (ALDSF) is to be inducted as an Honour Organisation into the International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame in New York City on 6th May 2023.

The ALDSF was founded in Hobart, Tasmania in 1973 and is the longest-serving national open water swimming body in Oceania.

The Foundation members and office bearers were President Christopher Guesdon (IMSHOF), Deputy President Dick Campion (IMSHOF), Secretary Sue Guesdon (IMSHOF), and Executive Member John Koorey (AMSHOF).

In launching this first national organisation, the ALDSF paved the way for the sport in Australia. The ALDSF brought marathon swimming to life by founding marathon swimming accreditation in the country and providing recognition for our sport.

Through the ALDSF, Australia became affiliated with the major international marathon swimming organisations the International Long Distance Swimming Federation and the World Professional Marathon Swimming Federation.

The ALDSF introduced the first-ever Australian national championship marathon races and enabled a national team to compete on the international professional marathon swimming circuit. 

The Derwent River Big Swim was the first of the events held by the ALDSF in 1973. This swim remains the national blue-ribbon event and is recognised as the principle solo unassisted swim in Australia.

In 2020, the ALDSF set up the prestigious Australian Triple Crown of Marathon Swimming and was inducted into the Australian Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame the same year.

  • Written by Ocean Swims on 17 November 2022
  • (Updated on 3 August 2023)

The guardian of open water swimming: Passionately supporting the swimming community since 1999

Copyright © 1999-2024 oceanswims.com. All rights reserved.
‘OCEANFIT is a registered trademark of OceanFit Pty Ltd.